Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Davidson Honors Student-Athletes at aCATemy Awards

by | May 15, 2018 | Sports

The Second Annual ACATemy Awards Ceremony at Davidson College.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – The Davidson athletic department recently hosted the second annual aCATemy Awards at Duke Performance Hall. Jarod Latch, men’s basketball color commentator, served as the emcee for the evening.

Latch noted at the outset that Davidson student athletes had a spectacular year, earning 54 conference performer of the week awards, 20 athletes were named to all-conference teams, 5 Wildcats earned national performer of the week awards, and 10 athletes were named conference performers of the year. Meanwhile, epitomizing the mantle of scholar-athletes, 19 of 21 teams earned 3.0 or higher cumulative GPAs. Wildcat’s volunteer activities on the local, national, and international levels were also recognized.

During the ceremony, 17 awards were handed out – including three team-based honors. Hundreds of Davidson’s scholar-athletes were on hand to cheer on their teammates. The ceremony also included 3 musical performances by athletes, highlighting the diversity of talents among Wildcat athletes.

The Tommy Peters and Rebecca A. Stimson Awards had been previously presented at Spring Convocation, and the recipients were acknowledged at the outset of this ceremony.

The winners are listed below:

Tommy Peters Award – presented at Spring Convocation
Peyton Aldridge – Men’s Basketball

Rebecca A. Stimson Award – presented at Spring Convocation
Sarah Sears – Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Members of the baseball team accepted on behalf of Durin O’Linger – Class of 2017.

Best Postseason Performance – Individual
Durin O’Linger – Baseball

Breakthrough Performance
Jon Axel Gudmundsson – Men’s Basketball

Thomas D. Sparrow & Susan K. Roberts Awards
Riley League – Men’s Swimming & Morgan French – Field Hockey

Best Team GPA
Women’s Cross Country

Best Upset
Baseball wins Chapel Hill Regional, upsetting top seed UNC

Community Involvement
Cort Coxhead – Men’s Soccer

Record Breaking Performance
Jack Lang – Men’s Golf

Best Postseason Performance – Team
Baseball wins A-10 Championship and makes the program’s first-ever super regional appearance after winning the Chapel Hill Regional

Members of the Lacrosse Team accepted the award on behalf of Kendall Thielemann – Class of 2017.

Overcoming Adversity
Kendall Thielemann – Women’s Lacrosse

Helen DeVane Carnegie Freshman of the Year – presented by 3 past recipients
Kellan Grady – Men’s Basketball

Support Staff Game Changer
Laura Mancuso – Athletic Trainer

Top Play 
Baseball, 2017 Regional Championship – Will Robertson to Jake Sidwell

Female Athlete of the Year
Sarah Sears – Women’s Cross Country/Track & Field

Male Athlete of the Year
Peyton Aldridge – Men’s Basketball

The gathering of hundreds of Davidson scholar-athletes at the 2nd Annual ACATemy Awards Ceremony held in the Duke Family Performance Hall.



Support Your Community News