Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Community Members Invited to Jack Burney Award Ceremony: Wednesday, November 21 at 10:00 a.m.

by | Nov 13, 2018 | Bottom Right Box, News

Community members are invited to the G. Jackson Burney Community Service Award ceremony on Wednesday, November 21 at 10:00 a.m. at Davidson Town Hall.

The ceremony and following reception will honor long-time Davidson resident Tony Abbott.

The award is named for G. Jackson Burney, who served the town in many capacities, primarily in planning and communications. Since 2004, it has honored Burney and those whose unselfish service benefits the Davidson community. Previous award winners include Bernice Houston, William B. Mayhew, Baxter and John Fisher, Evelyn Carr, Annie Mildred Lowery, Scotty Nichols, John and Paula Kelton, Jane B. Ellithorpe, Ralph Quackenbush, Leland Park, Jean Jackson, Sterling Martin, Pam Maier, Connie and Eddie Beach, Leamon Brice, Garfield Carr, and Bill Giduz.

The ceremony and reception honoring Tony Abbott will be held on Wednesday, November 21 at 10:00 a.m. at Davidson Town Hall. The North Mecklenburg Moravian Band will play at 9:30 a.m. and Mayor Rusty Knox will open the ceremony at 10:00 a.m. Light refreshments will be served afterward. We hope you will join us.

For more information on the ceremony, please contact Communications Director Cristina Shaul at 704-940-9602. For more information on the award, please visit

Support Your Community News