Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Davidson College Hosts 3rd Annual ACATemy Awards

by | May 7, 2019 | Sports

The Davidson College 3rd Annual ACATemy Awards.


Monday evening, May 6, Davidson College hosted the 3rd Annual ACATemy Awards. The event honored the outstanding individual and team performances by Wildcat Scholar-Athletes. Jarod Latch – Voice of Davidson Men’s Basketball – served as the Master of Ceremonies. See our complete ACATemy Awards photo album on our News of website. 

The awards presented are as follows. (Presenters are in parentheses.)

Best Post Season by an Individual (Ally Welling & Andrea Robinson)

  • Mike Blasey

Best Breakthrough Performance (Brian Hynes & Ryan Knohl)

  • Sarah Donovan

Susan K. Roberts Award

  • Mason Rooney

Thomas D. Sparrow Award

  • Casey Sutherland

Best Team GPA (Leigha Nortier)

  • Women’s Cross Country

Community Involvement Award (Cameron France and Emily Roebuck)

  • Mia Hodges

Best Upset (Zamir Ode & Noah Satterfield)

  • Women’s Basketball (win over Clemson)

Record Breaking Performance (Charley Orney & Eric Jones)

  • Football [91-61 victory over Guilford]

Best Post-Season by a Team (Yash Parikh & Tommy Mason)

  • Men’s Golf

Overcoming Adversity (Sam Thompson & Emma McLaughlin)

  • Andrea Robinson

Helen DeVane Carnegie Freshman of the Year (Caroline Yarbrough, Alexa Abele, Kellan Grady)

  • Braeden Dial

Inaugural Most Valuable Professor (Justine Lyon and Ciera Cockrell)

  • Dr. Malcolm Campbell

Support Staff Game Changer (Natalie Juniorr & Hunter Costa)

  • Zach Rowell

Top Play (Caroline Yarbrough & Tori Long)

  • Yash Parikh

Male Athlete of the Year (Megan Scholvinck & Nicole Krykanov)

  • Jon Axel Jón Axel Guðmundsson

Female Athlete of the Year (Brian Hynes & Ryan Knohl)

  • Caroline Yarbrough

Support Your Community News