Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Community Members Invited to Jack Burney Award Ceremony

by | Nov 12, 2019 | News

Bernice Houston, the first Burney Award recipient, removes the tape to reveal the name of Abbott, the 2018 awardee on the plaque in Town Hall. (Bill Giduz photo)


DAVIDSON, N.C. – Community members are invited to the G. Jackson Burney Community Service Award ceremony and reception on Wednesday, November 27 at 10:00 a.m. at Davidson Town Hall. The North Mecklenburg Moravian Band will play at 9:30 a.m., and Mayor Rusty Knox will open the ceremony at 10:00 a.m. Light refreshments will be served afterward. We hope you will join us.

Missy & John Kuykendall

The award is named for G. Jackson Burney, who served the town in many capacities, primarily in planning and communications. Since 2004, it has honored Burney and those whose unselfish service benefits the Davidson community. This year’s award will honor long-time Davidson residents Missy and John Kuykendall.

Previous award winners include Bernice Houston, William B. Mayhew, Baxter and John Fisher, Evelyn Carr, Annie Mildred Lowery, Scotty Nichols, John and Paula Kelton, Jane B. Ellithorpe, Ralph Quackenbush, Leland Park, Jean Jackson, Sterling Martin, Pam Maier, Connie and Eddie Beach, Leamon Brice, Garfield Carr, Bill Giduz, and Tony Abbott.

For more information on the ceremony, please contact Town Clerk Betsy Shores at 704-940-9614. For more information about the award, please visit

2018 recipient Tony Abbott and former recipients of the Burney Award pose with the Burney family. (front, l-r) Paula Kelton, Leland Park, Bernice Houston, Tony Abbott, Ralph Quackenbush, Pam Maier (back l-r) Sterling Martin, Bill Giduz, Carson Burney, Mike Burney, Lisa Burney, Eddie Beach, Connie Beach.



Support Your Community News