ARTS AND ENTERTAINMENT

The Latest News and Books from Main Street Books

by | Jul 14, 2020 | Arts & Entertainment, Local Businesses

“Kindness in words creates confidence. Kindness in thinking creates profoundness. Kindness in giving creates love.”
– Lao Tzu

Dear Readers,

This morning I’d like to extend a warm welcome to our newest staff member, Beth Helfrich, who will become the Main Street Books Events Manager next week.

Many of you may already know Beth. She’s a unicorn in our small college town; she was born and raised right here in Davidson, graduated Davidson College (having taken some courses from her own father), and followed in the footsteps of her mother to teach English for many years. But the work experience that is most fun to share is that she worked at Main Street Books on Sundays in high school in the 1990’s. Welcome home, Beth!

We all look forward to having the creative energy and charisma that Beth will bring to our events programming as we re-imagine what events will look like in a post-COVID community.

With hope and a commitment to justice,

Adah & the entire Main Street Books staff
Online order form
Schedule a shopping appointment
Call us at (704) 892-6841

P.S. I love to share books, community events, and general literary merriment. Follow Main Street Books on Facebook and Instagram.

Main Street Books is open for shopping by appointment. Appointments are available Monday through Saturday from 11 am to 4 pm. Appointments are 40 minutes and begin on the hour. The shop is cleaned between appointments. Shoppers must wear a mask during their time in the shop. See you soon! Schedule your appointment HERE.

 

 

Main Street Books is open for shopping by appointment. Appointments are available Monday through Saturday from 11 am to 4 pm. Appointments are 40 minutes and begin on the hour. The shop is cleaned between appointments. Shoppers must wear a mask during their time in the shop. See you soon! Schedule your appointment HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

Watch & sing along with Tunes & Tales with Jamie LIVE on Instagram. Our Instagram handle is @mainstreetbooksdavidson

Jamie brings her ukulele and her puppet, Junior, to sing and read books. She’s basically our very own Mr. Rogers.
WEDNESDAYS at 10:00 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Watch and dance along with Moving Stories with Camerin LIVE on Instagram. Our Instagram handle is @mainstreetbooksdavidson
 
Camerin teaches with Brain Dance movements and encourages kids to move to the story that she reads each week.
SATURDAYS at 10:00 AM
 
 
 
 
 

  

 

Our bookseller, Andrea Jasmin, is leading a discussion of The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett in July.

The goal of WRBG Book club is “to introduce a cohort of diverse writers to future generations – contemporary authors who are non-binary, queer, trans, and disabled. To address inequalities and improve communities through reading and reflecting on the works of Black women.” Read more about the national WRBG movement here.

THURSDAY, JULY 16th at 7:00 PM

 
 
 
 

We’re bringing our chapter of the Well-Read Black Girl book club to Zoom!

Our bookseller, Andrea Jasmin, is leading a discussion of The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett in July.

The goal of WRBG Book club is “to introduce a cohort of diverse writers to future generations – contemporary authors who are non-binary, queer, trans, and disabled. To address inequalities and improve communities through reading and reflecting on the works of Black women.” Read more about the national WRBG movement here.

THURSDAY, JULY 16th at 7:00 PM

 

 
 

Big Friendship by Aminatou Sow & Ann Friedman

From the creators of Call Your Girlfriend, a podcast of conversations between two long-distance best friends that explores the power and agency derived from friendships among women.

Big Friendship is the story of Aminatou and Ann’s long friendship. They write their story to dismantle the “mean girls” mentality that women should be vying for a coveted role of best friend by exploring and promoting the idea of big friendship, a strong and significant bond that transcends life phases, geographic location, and emotional shifts.

 

 
 

he Journeys of Trees by Zach St. George

A deft blend of science reporting and travel writing, The Journeys of Trees explores the evolving movements of forests by focusing on five trees: giant sequoia, ash, black spruce, Florida Torreya, and Monterey pine.

Journalist Zach St. George visits these trees in forests across continents, finding sequoias losing their needles in California, fossil records showing the paths of ancient forests in Alaska, domesticated pines in New Zealand, and tender new sprouts of blight-resistant American chestnuts in New Hampshire.

An eye-opening investigation into forest migration past and present, this title examines how we can all help our trees, and our planet, survive and thrive.

 

 
 
 The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

Seamlessly blending classic horror and a dramatic narrative with sharp social commentary, The Only Good Indians follows four American Indian men after a disturbing event from their youth puts them in a desperate struggle for their lives. Tracked by an entity bent on revenge, these childhood friends are helpless as the culture and traditions they left behind catch up to them in a violent, vengeful way.

 

 
 

Utopia Avenue by David Mitchell 

The long-awaited new novel from the bestselling, prize-winning author of Cloud Atlas and The Bone Clocks.

Utopia Avenue is the strangest British band you’ve never heard of. Emerging from London’s psychedelic scene in 1967, and fronted by folk singer Elf Holloway, blues bassist Dean Moss and guitar virtuoso Jasper de Zoet, Utopia Avenue embarked on a meteoric journey from the seedy clubs of Soho, a TV debut on Top of the Pops, the cusp of chart success, glory in Amsterdam, prison in Rome, and a fateful American sojourn in the Chelsea Hotel, Laurel Canyon, and San Francisco during the autumn of ’68.

 

  

 

The Safe Place by Anna Downes 

Superbly tense and oozing with atmosphere, Anna Downes’s debut, The Safe Place, is the perfect summer suspense, with the modern gothic feel of Ruth Ware and the morally complex family dynamics of Lisa Jewell.

Welcome to paradise…will you ever be able to leave?

 

 

F*ckface: And Other Stories by Leah Hampton

F*ckface is a brassy, bighearted debut collection of twelve short stories about rurality, corpses, honeybee collapse, and illicit sex in post-coal Appalachia.

In the vein of Bonnie Jo Campbell and Lee Smith, Leah Hampton writes poignantly and honestly about a legendary place that’s rapidly changing. She takes us deep inside the lives of the women and men of Appalachia while navigating the realities of modern life with wit, bite, and heart.

 

 
 

Greek Myths: Meet the Heroes, Gods, and Monsters of Ancient Greece by DK Publishing

This collection contains more than 30 enthralling new retellings of favorite myths as well as some you might not have heard before.

Greek Myths is the perfect gift, featuring foil on the cover and beautiful illustrations throughout. Children will love exploring the tales by themselves or as bedtime stories. It will be treasured forever!

 

HAPPY READING!

Support Your Community News