Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Statement from Mecklenburg NCGA Legislators

by | Jan 7, 2021 | News


As legislators who value and believe in our nation’s democracy, we feel compelled to speak in its defense in light of this week’s events.

The actions of President Trump to pressure the Secretary of State of Georgia to “find” the votes needed for him to carry the state indicate a callous disregard for fundamental democratic principles.  The President’s pressure on the Vice-President to violate his Constitutional duty is unacceptable.  And, as yesterday’s unprecedented events made clear, the President’s false claims and calls for insurrection resulted in violence and lawlessness.

Further, the votes of several members of our state’s Congressional delegation to throw out millions of legal ballots is a direct attack on our democracy.

This is not a partisan objection. Several conservative Republicans currently serving in federal office have voiced similar concerns. We echo the statements of Sen. Burr, Sen. Sasse, Sen. Romney, Sen. Toomey, Rep. Cheney, and former Speaker Ryan.  We recognize and thank the North Carolina members of Congress who voted to certify the electoral vote count.   

The American people have spoken. We must honor their vote and prepare to swear in President-elect Biden and Vice President-elect Harris on January 20th. 

Our Republic was wounded this week. Americans must now work to heal those wounds and those responsible must be held accountable.

The undersigned members of the Mecklenburg legislative delegation hereby voice our opposition to these attempts to subvert our nation’s presidential election and call on President Trump, members of Congress, and our fellow Americans to choose the path of all previous administrations: a peaceful transfer of power.

  • Rep. Kelly Alexander
  • Rep. John Autry
  • Rep. Mary Belk
  • Rep. Terry Brown
  • Rep. Becky Carney
  • Rep. Wesley Harris
  • Rep. Rachel Hunt
  • Rep. Brandon Lofton
  • Rep. Nasif Majeed


  • Sen. Jeff Jackson
  • Sen. Natasha Marcus
  • Sen. Mujtaba Mohammed
  • Sen. DeAndrea Salvador
  • Sen. Joyce Waddell

# # #

Support Your Community News