Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Reminder: Burney Community Service Award Nominations Open

by | Jan 14, 2021 | Local, News, Town Information

Bernice Houston – the first recipient of the award and Missy and John Kuykendall the most recent recipients.


The Jack Burney Award honors G. Jackson Burney and those who improve the Davidson community through unselfish service over a lifetime.  Read more about the history of G. Jackson Burney and how the award came into being here.


The Town of Davidson highly values community service, but do you know someone who has gone the extra mile to positively impact the town and its residents?  If so, we want to know!

Please use the ONLINE form to nominate a Davidson resident for the 2020 Burney Award, starting Friday, September 18 and concluding on Sunday, February 28, 2021. The deadline was extended due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions, specifically as they relate to indoor gatherings.


Past Winners

2004    Bernice Houston

2005    Bill Mayhew

2006    Baxter and John Fisher

2007    Scotty Nichols

2008    John and Paula Kelton

2009    Jane Ellithorpe

2010    Ralph Quackenbush

2011    Leland M. Park

2012    Sterling T. Martin Jr.

2012    Jean E. Jackson

2013    Pam Maier

2014    Connie and Eddie Beach

2015    Leamon B. Brice

2016    Garfield Carr

2017    Bill Giduz

2018    Tony Abbott

2019    Missy and John Kuykendall




Support Your Community News