Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Wildcats Honored With 2020-21 Awards

by | Jun 17, 2021

The Davidson College Annual aCATemy Awards ceremony didn’t take place this year, but the awards have been announced. (This photo from 2019.)


With the conclusion of the 2020-21 season, Davidson Athletics awards have been presented, at the department and team levels.

As previously announced, the athletic department’s top senior awards went to men’s basketball’s Kellan Grady and women’s swimmer Sarah Helen Shepherd, who secured the Tommy Peters and Rebecca E. Stimson awards, respectively.

Gretchen Pearson of women’s soccer and Daniel Alvarez-Orlachia of men’s track and field were recognized for exemplifying the Davidson spirit and presented with the Susan K. Roberts and Thomas D. Sparrow awards, respectively.

The Helen DeVane Carnegie Award, which honors the top freshman, went to lacrosse’s Julianne Carey.

Team Awards
Fielding Clark MVP: Trevor Candelaria
Most Valuable Pitcher: Nolan DeVos
George Weicker Rookie: Ryan Wilson
Rick Smyre Hustle: Trevor Candelaria
Teammate: Parker Nolan

Men’s Basketball
John M. Belk MVP: Kellan Grady
Defense/Rebounding: Luka Brajkovic
TCC: Hyunjung Lee
DG Martin Hustle: Michael Jones

Women’s Basketball
Share Shoot Stifle: Chloe Welch
Hustle: Sarah Konstans
Cory Young (’77) Wildcat: Cassidy Gould

Men’s Cross Country
Most Valuable: Owen Drometer
Fred Borch Award: Iain Anderson

Women’s Cross Country
Most Valuable: Frances Whitworth
Most Improved: Caroline Willis

Field Hockey
Player’s Player: McGee Roman
Academic: Nellie Turnage, Molly Firr
Wildcat: Izzy Moody
Iron Cat: Valerie Hajek

Paul Barbee ’59 Offensive MVP: Tyler Phelps
Paul Biggers ’59 Defensive MVP: Jalen Jefferson
Alex Porter ’60 Special Teams MVP: Brian Jacobs
Bill Gammon ’70 Wildcat/Prosser Sands Carnegie “WE”: Tyler Phelps
Newcomer: Jonathan Hammond

Ben Vernon Most Valuable: Viraj Garewal
Most Improved: Clayton Tribus

MVP: Sam Rippley
Most Improved: Page Wolfenden, Amanda Monahan
Wildcat: Natalie Junior
Coach’s: Izzy Lozano

Women’s Soccer
MVP: Sophia Caruso
Wildcat: Emma Alitz
Coaches: Keeley Copper
Class of 1986: Gretchen Pearson

Men’s Swimming
Billy Ray High Point: Ian Brann
Dick Redding Most Valuable: Kevin Andrews
Breakthrough Performer: Ian Brann
Wildcat: Will Tabor
Coach’s: Thomas Broderick

Women’s Swimming
Billy Ray High Point: Shelby Stanley
Pat Miller Most Valuable: Shelby Stanley
Breakthrough Performer: Martha Tripsa
Wildcat: Julia Goodhead
Coach’s: Kate Pottle

Men’s Tennis
MVP: Maxwell Kachkarov
Most Improved: Ogden Timpson
Coach’s: Camden Mazzoni

Men’s Track & Field
R.A. Fetzer Most Valuable: Bryce Anthony
William A. Merchant, III Most Improved: Dylan Ameres, Owen Drometer
Rookie: Isaac Bynum, Josh Hardin
Coach’s: Joe dosReis

Women’s Track & Field
Rookie: Megan Burkholder
Most Improved: Kate Carnevale
Most Valuable Track Athlete: Bianca Nolde-Lopez, Anna Davis
Most Valuable Field Athlete: Hannah Kanjian
Coach’s: Eleni Daughters

MVP: Isabella Brady
Dr. Lou Ortmayer Wildcat: Sydney Champaigne

Freshman: Bryce Sanderlin
Coach’s: Noah Burstein
Bailey Frair Courage: Jaden Hardrick

aCATemy Awards (announced June 2)
Best Postseason Individual: Shelby Stanley, Women’s Swimming
Best Postseason Team: Golf
Best Upset: Women’s Lacrosse
Breakthrough Performance: Amanda Monahan, Lacrosse
Community Involvement ‘Cats Care: Kellan Grady, Men’s Basketball
Overcoming Adversity: Joe dosReis, Men’s Cross Country, Track & Field
Record-breaking Performance: Football
Support Staff Game-Changer: Dr. Robert Lutz
Team GPA: Women’s Cross Country, Women’s Soccer
Top Play: Jalen Jefferson, Football

Support Your Community News