Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Davidson 2021 Election Candidates

by | Jul 19, 2021

Davidson Town Hall


The deadline for candidates to file for elected office in Davidson closed Friday, July 16 at noon.

According to the Mecklenburg County Board of Elections (BOE), Rusty Knox filed to run for re-election for Mayor. As it happened in 2019, he has no competition.

The big news is the race for the Board of Commissioners. Only two incumbents are seeking re-election: Jane Campbell and Autumn Rierson Michael. Meanwhile, 6 newcomers tossed their hats into the ring: Jeff Boyd, Matt Dellinger, Ryan Fay, Tracy Mattison Brandon, Tim Neal, and Dan Ryan.

Those 8 candidates will compete for the 5 Town Board vacancies that are open every 2 years. Currently serving Board Members Matthew Fort and Jim Fuller announced that they would not run during recent board meetings. While Commissioner David Sitton didn’t make an announcement, he did not file to run for re-election.

According to the Mecklenburg BOE, Election Day is Tuesday, November 2. Early Voting is scheduled to begin on October 14 and will end on October 30. 

While some other Fall 2021 Election dates have shifted to 2022 there will be no change to the election schedule in Davidson. Delays in other municipalities are related to census data – specifically in larger municipalities where location representation is divided into districts. All Davidson elections are nonpartisan and town-wide.


Note: News of Davidson is a nonpartisan nonprofit organization and will not endorse candidates for elected office. We will offer equal space for all candidates to share their messages with our readers in the coming months.


Support Your Community News