Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

New Town Board Sworn In

by | Dec 14, 2021

(left – right) Commissioner Autumn Rierson Michael, Mayor Rusty Knox, Commissioners Matthew Dellinger, Ryan Fay, Tracy Mattison Brandon, and Jane Campbell


On Tuesday, December 14, the Town Board meeting started off as usual, but Mayor Rusty Knox quickly noted that the meeting was going to be ceremonial.

The initial part of the meeting served as a farewell for three members of the Board: Matthew Fort, Jim Fuller, and David Sitton. Mayor Knox called them up, one-by-one, starting with Commissioner Sitton. Knox commended Sitton and Fort for their four years of service to the Board and to the citizens of the Town. Then Mayor called up Commissioner Jim Fuller last and highlighted that he had served for ten years as an elected official and four years prior to that as a member of the appointed Planning Board. Each outgoing commissioner was presented with a framed print of Main Street that includes the Farmers Market mural on the side of Summit Coffee.

The three commissioners returned to the dais and made brief remarks. At the end of the remarks, the Mayor called for a 15 minute recess.

During the recess, the Mayor and incoming five commissioners went to the administrative conference room for the official oaths of office and signing of the necessary paperwork. When they returned to the Board Room, the ceremonial “swearing ins” took place. Beginning with the Mayor, each of the incoming officials was sworn in by outgoing Commissioner Jim Fuller.

The next item of “ceremonial business” was the designation of the Mayor Pro Tempore. Commissioner Autumn Michael nominated Jane Campbell. The unanimous 4-0 vote confirmed the nomination.

The Mayor subsequently named his appointments to the outside boards:

  • Centralina Regional Council – Commissioner Autumn Rierson Michael
  • Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization – Mayor Rusty Knox*
  • Lake Norman Chamber of Commerce – Commissioner Tracy Mattison Brandon
  • Lake Norman Economic Development Council – Commissioner Ryan Fay
  • Lake Norman Transportation Commission – Commissioner Matthew Dellinger
  • Metropolitan Transit Commission – Mayor Rusty Knox
  • Visit Lake Norman – Commissioner Jane Campbell

The last official item on the agenda was approving the 2022 Board Meeting schedule. The new board voted to continue meeting on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month.

*Note: the Mayor stated that Commissioner Matthew Dellinger will serve as the delegate to CRTPO after he completes a prior obligation that has a conflict with the CRTPO meeting schedule.


Support Your Community News