Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Wildcat Football Team Members Named to Phil Steele Postseason Teams

by | Jan 13, 2022

Coy Williams dragging a San Diego player with him toward.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – Coy Williams has been named a 2021 Phil Steele All-American alongside twelve of his teammates who earned spots on the 2021 Phil Steele FCS All-Pioneer League Teams, announced by Phil Steele Tuesday. In total, 13 members of the Davidson Football team earned recognition. 

Williams not only earned a nod to the All-American Fourth Team, the Lumberton, Texas native also sits on the All-Pioneer League First Team with fellow seniors and teammates Jackson Sherrard and Khalil Miller. Williams’ 11 touchdowns put him at sixth overall in the FCS, just two behind the overall leader. Sophomore Jonathan Hammond also landed on the defensive first team. 

Two offensive linemen in senior Cole Foley and sophomore Beck Kipperman were named to the second team, while juniors Dylan Sparks and Aris Hilliardearned third team recognition. The fourth team is comprised of five Wildcats including QB Louis Colosimo, Jordan Reed and Jake Alexander on defense with Evan Pritchard and Aaron Maione on special teams. 

Davidson was back-to-back PFL Champions following the spring and fall 2021 seasons. Head coach Scott Abell has led a teamto 11-2 in PFL play in just a span eight months, the best record of any Pioneer Football League team over that time. They also became one of ten teams to qualify for the FCS playoffs in both the spring and fall 2021 seasons. The ‘Cats finished the regular season ranked first in the country in rushing offense (348.4 ypg) and 3rd down conversion percentage (54.3). In his four seasons at Davidson, Abell’s offenses have finished best in the nation in rushing three times, and best in 3rd down conversion percentage two times. 

Abell and the football program were excited to announce the future of Wildcat Football late last year, and are looking forward to announcing the full Class of 2026 later this year. 

Follow this link to view the complete 2021 Phill Steele Postseason Awards. 

Fans can connect directly with Davidson Football on Facebook (, Twitter (@DavidsonFB) and Instagram (@DavidsonFootball). Head coach Scott Abell is on Twitter and can be found at @Scott_AbellFB.

Support Your Community News