Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Three Wildcat Swimmers Named to A-10 All-Academic Team

by | Apr 7, 2022


NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — Three Davidson Wildcat swimmers have been named to the Atlantic 10 Conference All-Academic Team, the league announced Thursday afternoon.

Senior Siena Senn and junior Shelby Stanley were named to the women’s team, while sophomore Ian Brann was chosen for the men’s team.

“I’m so impressed by these Wildcats and so grateful for the Atlantic-10 recognizing their considerable successes,” said Davidson coach John Young. “Siena and Shelby and Ian are all leaders on our team, and each has taken advantage of the remarkably rich experience that Davidson offers to its scholar-athletes. I am proud of them and thankful for the impact that they have on their teammates and coaches.”  

Senn has been honored three straight years, while Stanley, now the two-time A-10 Most Outstanding Performer, earned her second All-Academic nod. To qualify, an athlete must be at least a sophomore, significant contributor and have a cumulative GPA of higher than 3.0.

Stanley, a psychology major, captured three gold medals at the A-10 Championships, setting A-10 records in the 100 fly (52.94) and 200 IM (1:57.89) and also winning the 200 fly (1:59.35). She earned five medals in all, taking silver with the 200 free relay and bronze with the 200 medley relay.

Senn, earning her degree in interdisciplinary studies, finished seventh in the 200 free at A-10s (1:49.66) and won the A-10 consolation final in the 500 free with a time of 4:51.87, which was third fastest in the meet. She also swam on the fifth-place 800 free relay team.

Brann, a chemistry major, took A-10 bronze as anchor on the 200 medley relay team (1:29.08) and reached the A-10 consolation finals in the 50 free (T-10th) and 100 free (11th). He also swam on the fourth-place 200 free relay and the 400 and 800 free relays, which took fifth.

Men’s Team:
Ian Brann, Davidson
Daniel Verdico, Saint Louis
Janssen Gamilla, Saint Louis
Maciej Danilewski, St. Bonaventure
Marek Osina, George Washington 
Thomas Chapman, George Mason
Brendan Conley, George Washington
Alec Thomas, St.Bonaventure
Anthony Nguyen, George Mason
Alex Wilhelm, Fordham

Women’s Team:
Shelby Stanley, Davidson
Siena Senn, Davidson
Jacquee Clabeaux, George Mason
Hanna Everhart, Duquesne
Rachel Kimmel, St.Bonaventure
Carly Perri, George Washington
Sidney O’Donnell, Duquesne
Claire O’Shaughnessy, Richmond
Sara Rizzetto, La Salle
Clare Culver, Fordham

Support Your Community News