Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

18 Scholar-Athletes Named to SoCon Honor Roll

by | Jul 28, 2022

Wildcat wrestlers took home more SoCon honors.


SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Eighteen members of the Davidson Wrestling team have been named to the Southern Conference Academic Honor Roll for the 2021-2022 year, announced by the conference office on Wednesday. A total 2,441 student-athletes from the 10 member institutions and 14 associate members earned the distinction.

The 18 ‘Cats representing Davidson Wrestling are Noah Burstein, Nick Cambria, Evan Clark, Erik Eva, Noah Frack, Kyle Gorant, Jaden Hardrick, Gavin Henry, Finlay Holston, David Loniewski, Matt McLaughlin, Hale Robinson, Lachlan Rosato, Brett Sanderlin, Bryce Sanderlin, Anthony Spera, Oliver Tipton and Mitchell Trigg.

Gorant, Hardrick and Holston were also named to the SoCon Academic All-Coference Team on Tuesday.

The academic honor roll originated in 1988-89, when SoCon athletic directors established the award as a way to recognize the league’s outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in varsity sports and posted a 3.0 grade point average or higher for the academic year, were eligible the entire academic year and were members of the final squad lists. The award is different from the academic all-conference award, announced Tuesday, which is determined by cumulative GPA and involves a participation requirement.

Support Your Community News