Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Four ‘Cats Named to the Preseason All-PFL Team

by | Aug 4, 2022

Dylan Sparks scoring a touchdown in the Wildcats win over San Diego.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – Just a day after Davidson football was announced as the preseason league favorite, senior running back Dylan Sparks, redshirt senior fullback Coy Williams, junior offensive lineman Beck Kipperman, and senior defensive lineman Jonathan Hammond have earned spots on the 2022 Preseason All-PFL Team, announced by the league Tuesday. 

Returning players named to the league’s 2021 All-PFL Teams were placed automatically on the 2022 Preseason All-PFL team, in order of head coaches voting.

Sparks returns after leading the ‘Cats with 917 rushing yards and nine touchdowns and finishing third overall in the league in rushing yards. Williams returns for his last season after being tied at the top of the PFL with 14 touchdowns and posting 794 rushing yards. Kipperman was a key part of the offensive line that helped Davidson sit first in the country in rushing offense (348.4 ypg) and 3rd down conversion percentage (54.3). In his four seasons at Davidson, Abell’s offenses have finished best in the nation in rushing three times, and best in 3rd down conversion percentage two times. Hammond sat atop the stats with 64 tackles last season, 9.5 sacks for 58 yards and 13 TFLs for 70 yards, and was among the PFL’s top four in both sacks and TFLs. 

The full Preseason All-PFL team is below:  

2022 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League Team
(as selected by PFL head coaches)
Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
WR Sam Bubonics (H) Dayton 5-11 177 RSo. Solon, Ohio
WR Nazeviah Burris (2) Stetson 6-0 180 So. Union, S.C.
WR Vance Jefferson (2) San Diego 6-0 185 So. Poway, Calif.
QB Alexander Piccirilli (H) Stetson 6-4 225 Gr. Jupiter, Fla.
TE Dominic Carlucci (H) Stetson 6-2 230 RSo. Raleigh, N.C.
RB Jake Chisholm (1) Dayton 5-9 191 Sr. Union, Ky.
RB Dylan Sparks (1) Davidson 6-0 209 Sr. Centreville, Va.
FB Coy Williams (1) Davidson 5-11 213 Gr. Lumberton, Texas
A-P Jake Chisholm (1) Dayton 5-9 191 Sr. Union, Ky.
OL Aaron Byrd (H) Valparaiso 6-4 305 RSr. Bradley, Ill.
OL Beck Kipperman (2) Davidson 6-2 259 Jr. Round Rock, Texas
OL Finley Lecky (H) San Diego 6-1 270 Jr. Chandler, Ariz.
OL Cam Marriott (1) Morehead State 6-3 300 Jr. Redlands, Calif.
OL Brian Stevens (H) Dayton 6-2 290 RSo. Milford, Ohio
DL William Buck (1) San Diego 6-0 285 RJr. Sacramento, Calif.
DL Jonathan Hammond (1) Davidson 6-2 208 Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
DL Muhindo Kapapa (2) San Diego 6-2 275 Gr. Fairfield, Calif.
DL Fermon Reid (1) Stetson 6-0 254 Gr. Naples, Fla.
LB David Ambagtsheer (H) San Diego 6-0 220 RSr. San Diego, Calif.
LB Mike Arrington (2) Marist 5-11 212 RSr. Ashburn, Va.
LB Majeste Hansberry (H) Stetson 6-2 215 RSr. Atlanta, Ga.
LB Ben Schmiesing (2) Dayton 6-1 232 Gr. Piqua, Ohio
DB Clay Fields (2) Marist 5-11 190 RSr. Franklin, N.J.
DB Cooper Krezek (2) Morehead State 6-0 200 RSo. Kansas City, Mo.
DB Amir Wallace (H) San Diego 6-1 180 Sr. Fairfield, Calif.
DB Teddy Wright (1) Marist 6-0 212 Gr. Sharon Hill, Pa.
PK Brian Bartholomew (1) Valparaiso 5-11 160 RSr. Sugar Grove, Ill.
P Shane Dunning (H) Drake 6-0 175 Jr. Muskego, Wis.
RS Chuck Maxwell (2) Valparaiso 5-5 140 Jr. Elkhart, Ind.
LS Brady McKnight (1) Morehead State 6-1 200 So. Stephens City, Va.
Notes in parentheses: 1-was a first-team selection; 2-was a second-team selection; H-was an honorable mention selection in previous year of competition..

Support Your Community News