Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Hammond Named to Buck Buchanan Watch List

by | Aug 9, 2022

Rising junior Jonathan Hammond (#13) in the game vs. Drake in Nov. ’21.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – Johnathan Hammond has been named to the 2022 Buck Buchanan Watch List, an award Stats Perform presents to the national defensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision, announced by the organization Thursday.

“We are very proud of what Jonathan has accomplished in his first two seasons,” Associate Head Coach Jon Berlin said. “He has been the consummate teammate, player, and leader. We look forward to seeing what he will do this season.”

The Dunwoody, Ga. native was named to the Stats Perform Preseason All-America Team earlier in the week.

More players can join the watch list during the regular season, and afterwards a national media panel will select the winner. First awarded in 1995, the Buchanan includes past recipients such as Dexter Coakley, Rashean Mathis, Jared Allen and Arthur Moats.

Also this season, Stats Perform will present the Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year), Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman player of the year), Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year) and Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Hammond is one of 35 FCS athletes named to the full watch list, below:

Defensive Linemen
Brevin Allen, Campbell, Sr., 6-4, 265 (2021 Finalist)
Ty French, Gardner-Webb, Jr., 6-3, 230
Jeblonski Green, South Carolina State, R-Jr., 6-3, 265
Malik Hamm, Lafayette, Sr., 6-3, 260
Jonathan Hammond, Davidson, Jr., 6-2, 227
Titus Leo, Wagner, Gr., 6-4, 245 (2020 and 2021 Finalist)
Jordan Lewis, Southern, Jr., 6-3, 195 (2020 Buck Buchanan Award recipient)
Nate Lynn, William & Mary, Jr., 6-3, 265 (2021 Finalist)
Devonnsha Maxwell, Chattanooga, Sr., 6-3, 296 (2021 Finalist)
Clay Patterson, Yale, Jr., 6-3, 267
Kevin Peprah, Sacred Heart, Sr., 6-2, 235
Markel Perry, Sam Houston, R-Sr., 6-2, 220
Josiah Silver, New Hampshire, So., 6-2, 232
B.J. Thompson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., 6-6, 210
Spencer Waege, North Dakota State, Sr., 6-5, 278

Kelechi Anyalebechi, UIW, Gr., 6-0, 240 (2021 Finalist)
Adam Bock, South Dakota State, Jr., 6-1, 215 (2021 Finalist)
Spencer Cuvelier, Northern Iowa, R-Sr., 6-3, 245
Jacob Dobbs, Holy Cross, Sr., 6-0, 232 (2021 Finalist)
John Ford II, UT Martin, LB, Gr., 6-3, 230
Ryan Greenhagen, Fordham, Gr., 6-1, 245 (2020 Finalist)
David Hoage, Northern Colorado, Jr., 6-3, 250
Matthew Jackson, Eastern Kentucky, R-Sr., 6-2, 205 (2021 Finalist)
James Kaczor, North Dakota State, Sr., 6-0, 212
Isaiah Land, Florida A&M, Sr., 6-4, 215 (2021 Buck Buchanan Award recipient)
Patrick O’Connell, Montana, R-Sr., 6-2, 225 (2021 Finalist)
Stone Snyder, VMI, Sr., 6-3, 240 (2020 and 2021 Finalist)
Tristan Wheeler, Richmond, R-Jr., 6-2, 228

Defensive Backs
Anthony Adams, Portland, State, Sr., 6-0, 185 (2019 Finalist)
Montrae Braswell, Missouri State, Jr., 6-0, 190
Justin Ford, Montana, R-Sr., 6-2, 190 (2021 Finalist)
Robby Hauck, Montana, R-Sr., 5-10, 185
Ferlando Jordan, Southeastern Louisiana, R-Sr., 6-0, 180
Michael Tutsie, North Dakota State, Sr., 5-11, 193
Kedrick Whitehead, Delaware, Sr., 5-11, 195

Support Your Community News