Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Community Members Invited to Jack Burney Award Ceremony

by | Nov 14, 2022

The last Burney award ceremony was held in 2019. Missy and John Kuykendall, the 2019 recipients, posed with Bernice Houston in front of the G. Jackson Burney plaque in Town Hall.


The Town of Davidson invites community members to the G. Jackson Burney Community Service Award ceremony and reception on Wednesday, November 23 at 10:00 a.m. at Davidson Town Hall (216 South Main Street). The North Mecklenburg Moravian Band will play at 9:30 a.m., and Mayor Rusty Knox will open the ceremony at 10:00 a.m. Light refreshments will be served afterward. We hope you will join us.

 In light of the COVID-19 pandemic and the community’s inability to gather in person, the nominating committee decided to recognize two deserving individuals. The 2020 Burney Award will be given retroactively to Karen Houston, 2021 Burney Award will be given retroactively to Georgia Krueger, and the 2022 Burney Award will be given to Davidson resident Karen Toney.

The award is named for G. Jackson Burney who served the town in many capacities, primarily in planning and communications. Since 2004, Davidson has honored Burney and those whose unselfish service benefits the community.

Previous award winners are Bernice Houston, William B. Mayhew, Baxter and John Fisher, Evelyn Carr, Annie Mildred Lowery, Scotty Nichols, John and Paula Kelton, Jane B. Ellithorpe, Ralph Quackenbush, Leland Park, Jean Jackson, Sterling Martin, Pam Maier, Connie and Eddie Beach, Leamon Brice, Garfield Carr, Bill Giduz, Tony Abbott, and Missy and John Kuykendall.

For more information about the ceremony, please contact Davidson Town Clerk Betsy Shores at 704-940-9614 or [email protected]. For more information about the award, please visit

Support Your Community News