Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Three Wildcat Wrestlers Place at Patriot Open

by | Dec 5, 2022

Senior wrestler Gavin Henry was one of the three wrestlers to place at the Patriot Open. This photos from the home match vs. Michigan State.


FAIRFAX, Va. – Three Davidson wrestlers placed at the 2022 ARMS Software Patriot Open hosted by George Mason on Sunday. Gavin Henry and Bryce Sanderlin placed third while Marc Koch finished sixth to pace the Wildcats. 

In the 165-pound weight class, Sanderlin earned a pin in the round of 16, then won his quarterfinal match on an 8-1 decision to earn a spot in the top four. Sanderlin dropped a hard-fought 5-4 decision in the semifinals to send him to the third-place match. In that matchup, the Chesapeake native gutted out a win by decision, 7-6. 

Henry, a 197-pound senior, was victorious in his first-round matchup with a 12-1 major decision over Gardner-Webb’s Josh McCutcheon. Up next, Henry pinned his opponent in three minutes and 33 seconds to earn a spot in the semifinals and secure a top-four finish. Henry fell in the semis but won the third-place match in a 12-6 decision. 

Koch fought his way to sixth place by winning three of his five matchups. In the first round, the 157-pound freshman pinned VMI’s Ethan Barrett four-and-a-half minutes in before losing in the next round. In the consolation bracket, Koch won in a 9-3 decision to make it to the consolation semifinal. In that match, the Stillwater, New Jersey native won again via decision, 10-5, before falling in the fifth-place match, 8-2. 

The Davidson wrestling team will wrestle next when it hosts Queens and Presbyterian next Friday (Dec. 16) at 5 p.m. and 7 p.m.


Round of 32
133: Ethan Qureshi (Spartan Combat RTC) def. Jackson Sichelstiel – dec. 6-4
149: Noah Frack def. Billy Talmadge (Lock Haven) – dec. 9-4
149: Chase Caprella (Navy) def. David Loniewski (Davidson) – dec. 6-5
165: Nate Stephenson def. Makoa Niebel (Franklin & Marshall) – major dec. 9-1

Round of 16
125: Tyson Lane (Gardner-Webb) def. Hale Robinson – tech fall (4:00)
133: Josh Jones (George Mason) def. Noah Burstein – dec. 4-2
141: David Graves (Navy) def. Joshua Viarengo – dec. 5-0
141: Luke Roberts (Unaffiliated) def. Matt Mclaughlin – dec. 9-2
149: Evan Maag (George Mason) def. Noah Frack – fall (3:38)
157: Marc Koch F Ethan Barrett (Virginia Military Institute) – fall (4:32)
165: Rodrick Mosley (Gardner-Webb) def. Jaden Hardrick – dec. 8-3
165: Andrew Dickson (George Mason) def. Nate Stephenson – fall (3:53)
165: Bryce Sanderlin def. Eric Thomson (Unaffiliated), fall (2:07)
174: Isaac Dean (Rider) def. Brett Sanderlin – dec. 6-4
184: James Brown (Virginia Tech) def. Cameo Blankenship – dec. 8-3
184: Tyler Kocak (George Mason) F Oliver Tipton – fall (1:44)
197: Gavin Henry def. Josh Mccutchen (Gardner-Webb), major dec. 12-1

157: Peter Pappas (George Mason) def. Marc Koch – dec. 6-3
165: Bryce Sanderlin def. Luke Hart (Virginia Military Institute), dec. 8-1
197: Gavin Henry def. Brian Jackson (Virginia Military Institute), fall (3:33)

165: Avery Bassett (Lock Haven) def. Bryce Sanderlin – dec. 5-4
197: Carson Floyd (Appalachian State) def. Gavin Henry – fall (2:30)

5th Place
157: Benny Rodgers (Spartan Combat RTC) def. Marc Koch – dec. 8-2

3rd Place
165: Bryce Sanderlin def. Andrew Dickson (George Mason), dec. 7-6
197: Gavin Henry def. Khris Walton (Newberry), dec. 12-6

Consolation Round of 16 #2
133: Josh Hillard (Franklin & Marshall) def. Jackson Sichelstiel – fall (6:40)
133: Noah Burstein def. Josman Gamez (Newberry) – major dec. 17-5
141: Matt Mclaughlin def. Ethan Lopez (Unaffiliated), 0-0 0:09
141: Dominic Hargrove (George Mason) def. Joshua Viarengo – fall (1:48)
149: David Loniewski def. Sander Miller (NYCRTC) – major dec. 16-3
149: Noah Frack (Davidson) def. Vincenzo Napolitana (Spartan Combat RTC) – dec. 5-0

Consolation Quarterfinal #1
125: Foster Cardinale (Spartan Combat RTC) def. Hale Robinson – fall (0:47)
133: Noah Burstein def. Zein Bazzi (Unaffiliated) – dec. 13-11
141: Matt Mclaughlin def. Heath Gonyer (Appalachian State) – forfeit
149: Corbin Dion (Gardner-Webb) def. David Loniewski – major dec. 13-1
149: Noah Roulo (Virginia Military Institute) def. Noah Frack – dec. 6-2
165: Geno Quodola (Navy) def. Nate Stephenson – major dec. 16-4
165: Jaden Hardrick def. Zack Arsala (Unaffiliated) – fall (4:22)
174: Brett Sanderlin def. Cole Tolley (Unaffiliated) – dec. 7-0
184: Joe Zovistoski (Appalachian State) def. Oliver Tipton – dec. 9-4
184: Cameo Blankenship def. Max Welsh (Unaffiliated) – dec.11-5

Consolation Semifinals
133: Josh Hillard (Franklin & Marshall) def. Noah Burstein – major dec. 12-2
157: Marc Koch def. Nolan Wheeler (Newberry) – dec.10-5

Support Your Community News