Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

Record 75 Football Scholar-Athletes Named to PFL Honor Roll

by | Feb 2, 2023

“WE” on the helmet in the foreground, and the football scholar-athletes lined up to bid farewell to their senior teammates.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – A record-breaking 75 Davidson football scholar-athletes have been named to the Fall 2023 Pioneer Football League Academic Honor Roll, announced by the conference on Thursday. This is the first season the Wildcats have landed over 70 scholar-athletes on the list. 

Davidson’s is one of five schools in the conference to have 70 or more honorees and were fourth with a total of 75 student-athletes named to the list. Last season, the ‘Cats earned 68 honorees in the Fall of 2021, up from 62 in the Spring of 2021. 

Per the conference, the 725 student-athletes recognized broke the previous record of 663 set during the Fall 2021 season. The league also saw a jump in average honorees per team. Last year, the league membership averaged 63.4 student-athletes per institution, but in 2022, that number bumped to an average of 65.9 honorees per institution.

Pioneer Football League athletic director and coaches established the honor roll in 2001 as a way to recognize the league’s outstanding student-athletes. To date, the league has recognized more than 10,000 student-athletes on the PFL Academic Honor Roll.

The PFL Academic Honor Roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the semester of competition and posted a 3.0 grade-point average or higher during the semester while enrolled full-time in accordance with NCAA rules.

Davidson Honorees
Mari Adams, Fr., Undecided
Yusuf Ahmed, So., Undecided
Tristan Allen, Jr., Computer Science
Jack Bogan, So., Economics
Caden Bonoffski, Sr., Communication Studies
Barclay Briggs, Jr., Economics
Dallas Brown, So., Undecided
Jordan Burrell, Jr., Biology
Alex Carman, So., Undecided
Daniel Carter, So., Undecided
Coulter Cleland, Fr., Undecided
Will Cox, Jr., Computer Science
Garrett Crockett, So., Undecided
Gilbert Deglau, Jr., Mathematics
Henry Dolan, So., Undecided
Alexander Donald, Sr., Computer Science
Luke Durkin, So., Undecided
Danny Fish, Fr., Undecided
James Gilreath III, Jr., Political Science
Langston Green, Fr., Undecided
Jonathan Hammond, Jr., Communication Studies
Daniel Harrington, Jr., Psychology
Kase Harris, Jr., Economics
Sam Hedrick, So., Undecided
Kyler Herring, Fr., Undecided
Amare Hill, Fr., Undecided
Aris Hilliard, Sr., Psychology
Nick Horstkamp, Jr., Economics
Josiah Jackson, Fr., Undecided
Brian Jacobs, Sr., Economics
Nicholas Jako, So., Undecided
Kaedon Jenkins, Sr., Computer Science
Collin Johnson, Jr., Communication Studies
Jayden Joyce, Fr., Undecided
Mikah Kent, Fr., Undecided
Darryn Kindles, So., Undecided
Beck Kipperman, Jr., Political Science
Ryan Loveday, So., Undecided
TJ Magee, Fr., Undecided
Mark McCurdy, Jr., Economics
Sabin McLaughlin, Fr., Undecided
Trey Messer, Jr., Biology
Storm Monroe, Jr., Economics
Anthony Njoku, Fr., Undecided
Dominic Njoku, Fr., Undecided
Bradyn Oakley, Sr., Psychology
Luke Paley, Fr., Undecided
Chris Panko, Sr., Mathematics
Jaden Pask, Sr., Political Science
LJ Phillips Jr., So., Mathematics
Jerrad Price, Sr., Biology
Austin Pronk, So., Chemistry
Lucas Raber, Sr., Economics
Julian Rawlins, So., Undecided
Grant Reeder, So., Political Science
Brody Reina, Fr., Undecided
Danny Reyes, So., Undecided
Jaleel Sales, Fr., Undecided
Josh Sepe, Sr., Political Science
Mason Sheron, Fr., Undecided
Landon Smart, Fr., Undecided
Xander Smith, Fr., Undecided
Dylan Sparks, Sr., Computer Science
Jake Stylski, Sr., Political Science
Yusef Thomas, Sr., Psychology
Chris Turberville, Sr., Psychology
Bernard Turner Jr., Sr., Chemistry
Sam Valiant, So., Undecided
Sam Valor, So., Economics
Seth Warner, So., Economics
Aaron Warren, Jr., Communication Studies
Jack Wiese, Jr., Psychology
Coy Williams, Sr., Religious Studies
Cam’ron Willis, Fr., Undecided
JD Woodall, So., Undecided

Support Your Community News