Donate! Support your community news.
Subscribe! News delivered to your inbox.

A-10 Champs Headed to Vegas for NCAA Regional

by | May 3, 2023

The golf team is heading to Las Vegas for the NCAA Regional tournament.


DAVIDSON, N.C. – Fresh off winning its third straight Atlantic 10 Championship and fourth in the last five competed, Davidson received the league’s automatic berth to play in the 2023 NCAA Men’s Golf Regional May 15-17 at Bear’s Best Las Vegas.

The Wildcats, who are making their fourth NCAA Regional appearance as a team, carded a 54-hole total of 865 (+1) at A-10s last weekend, while leading wire-to-wire en route to an eight-shot victory over league-newcomer Loyola.

Under the direction of four-time A-10 Coach of the Year Tim Straub, the Wildcats have three tournament wins, seven Top-5 finishes, and a 284.50 stroke average this season.

For the second straight year, Davidson’s Alex Heffner was named Conference Player of the Year. The 2023 A-10 Individual Champion led the league with a pair of individual titles and a 70.00 stroke average. He was joined on the all-conference squad by teammate Will Davis.

Davidson has now captured nine conference crowns (SoCon – 1954, 1960, 1966, 1967, 1968 | A-10 – 2018, 2021, 2022, 2023).

In eight Atlantic 10 Championship appearances, the Wildcats have captured four titles, a runner-up and third-place showing, while recording an average finish of 2.9.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted to determine the 30 qualifying teams and six individuals not on those qualifying teams who will compete in the finals. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals.

The finals are May 26-31 at Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Bear’s Best Las Vegas – Las Vegas, Nevada
Hosted by University of Nevada, Las Vegas and Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1.         Arizona State
2.         Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]
3.         Virginia
4.         Oklahoma State
5.         Northwestern
6.         East Tennessee State [Southern Conference]
7.         Cincinnati
8.         San Francisco
9.         UNC Greensboro
10.      Long Beach State [Big West Conference]
11.      Oregon State
12.      Davidson [Atlantic 10 Conference]
13.      Kansas City [The Summit League]
14.      Lehigh [Patriot League]

Individuals (seeded in the following order):

1.         Caden Fioroni, UNLV
2.         Mac McClear, Iowa
3.         Aidan Thomas, New Mexico State
4.         Garrison Smith, New Mexico State
5.         Brady McKinlay, Utah Valley

Support Your Community News